

DHARMASOKA COLLEGE PAST PUPILS' ASSOCIATION COLOMBO BRANCH

MINUTES OF THE 4th EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE YEAR 2024/25 HELD ON 05TH SEPTEMBER 2024 AT 6.00 PM AT RED WOOD LOUNGE, BRC, 149, HAVELOCK ROAD, COLOMBO 05

	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	%
AVM (Rted) Dilshan Wasage	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
AVM (Retd) Thilan De Silva	Р	Ρ	Е	Р									75
Eng Palitha Hendahewa	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Mr Iman Perera	Р	Ρ	E	Р									75
Mr Kelum Jayasuriya	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Eng Pubudu De Zoysa	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mr Dhananjaya Nandasiri	Р	Ρ	E	Р									75
Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mr Janaka Kumudu	Р	Ρ	Р	Е									75
Mr Harish Guruge	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Mr Hemantha De Silva	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Mr Chandrakumara Lokuliyana	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mr Saman Warusawithana	Р	Е	Е	А									25
Mr Dhammika Kodikara	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mr Nipul Gunasekara	Р	Р	0	0									100
Dr Neela Gunasekara	Р	Р	Р	А									75
Dr P Warusawithana	Р	Р	E	Р									75
Mr Chandana Guniyangoda	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Eng Sudath De silva	Р	Ρ	Е	Р									75
Mrs Sajeewa Priyadharshani	Р	Ρ	Р	Е									75
Mr Chaminda Wijewickrama	Р	Ρ	Р	Е									75
Mrs Shyama De Silva	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Dr Deshapriya Wijethunge	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Eng Lal Premanath	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Vice Admiral (Retd) Piyal De Silva	Е	Е	Е	Е									00
Mr Susiri De Silva	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mrs Helani De Silva	Р	А	А	А									25
Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mrs Rekha Mallawarachchi	Р	Ρ	E	Р									75
Dr Aruna Lokuliyana	Р	Р	Р	Е									75
Mr Prabath Sugathadasa	Р	Ρ	Р	Р									100
Mrs Yamuna Hetiarachchi	Р	Р	Р	Р									100
Mr Udaya Sirisena	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Mr Wasantha Kumara	E	Е	Р	Р									50
Eng Chandralal Suriyarachchi	Р	Е	E	Р									50
Mr Dewmith Kaggodarachchi	Р	Е	Р	Р									75
Mr Prasanna Egodage	Е	Р	Е	Е									25

- 1. Meeting called to order at 06.30 pm.
- 2. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- 3. Silent tribute to Members who passed away: None

Apologies for Absence: Prasanna Egodage, Janaka Kumudu, Sajeewa Priyadharshani, Piyal De Silva, Chaminda Wijewickrama

5. Welcome address by President:

President AVM Dilshan Wasage welcomed all the members present and thank them for their participation. He reiterated the association's gratitude to Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera for arranging the youth parliament and donation of smart classroom. He mentioned that the smart classroom will be delivered within one or two months to the school.

He informed the committee that the photocopy machine was purchased and handed over to the school. It will be officially handed over at the scholarship awarding ceremony.

6. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 4th Ex-Co meeting for the year 2023/24 held on 05th August, 2024:

The last meeting minutes confirmation was proposed by Eng Lal Premanath and seconded by Mr Dhammika Kodikara.

7. Matters arising from the minutes

Visit to the school to discuss the 4 story building construction will be done on the scholarship awarding ceremony day.

8. Year Plan & Subcommittees

Scholarship Trust

Eng Lal Premanath informed that the scholarship awarding ceremony will be held on 27th of September and committee decided to have the rational use of medicine awareness programme on the same day.

64 applications were received out of 250 students who passed GCE A/L examination. Initially 6 applications were rejected on income basis. 5 students have decided not to enter to university this year. Out of remaining 53 students 26 were selected for scholarship awarding.

Career guidance programme

A zoom meeting was conducted and the sub committee identified the resource persons. The chairperson will discuss regarding a date in November with the Principal. The target group will be year 11 students.

Members get together

Eng Pubudu De Zoysa informed that members get together will be organized in November at Jetwin Jay Jay Hotel in Panadura.

Mr Kelum Jayasuriya informed that **Book donation and book fair** will be held in December.

Awareness on medicines will be conducted in parallel to scholarship awarding.

Donation of bus

Enactment of the association to be obtained for the donation of the bus. Mr Hemantha De Silva pointed out that there will be a responsibility vested on the association if ownership is taken by the association.

Constitutional affairs subcommittee

To work on the enactment of the constitution in the parliament. Committee decided to appoint Mr KT Chithrasiri as the advisor to the sub committee.

Thomas De Silva oration

It was reminded that the association has to send an official invitation to Dr Ruwan Fernando. Eng Palitha Hendahewa will attend to it.

8. Accounts for the month of August 2024:

The Treasurer tabled the monthly accounts for the month of August 2024.

Mr Susiri De Silva donated Rs 10,000 for the transport cost of the principal on youth parliament day.

Committee decided to pay Rs 5000 to the principal for the transport cost when attending to events organized by the association.

Fixed deposit Rs 900,000 withdrawn. Rs 220,000 for the photocopy machine Rs 120,000 for the trust fund for two scholarships

Rs 500,000 will be redeposited in FD.

Mr Evan De Silva settled the outstanding amount.

Committee decided to remove receivable of Mr Damendra De Silva for sponsorship money from the accounts.

Committee decided to keep Mr Shammi Uyange's outstanding amount as receivables in the account as he didn't return the unsold ticket books before the

AGM event.

9. Correspondence

Approval letter for the smart classroom from the President's secretariat.

Approval letter from TRC for the smart classroom.

Thanking letter from the principal for the youth parliament and smart classroom.

10. Any Other Business

11. Tabling of new membership

No new membership application received during the month.

12. Vote of Thanks

Secretary expressed the association's sincere gratitude to the all-Executive members participated in the 4th committee meeting for the year 2024/25. He made a special note of thank to AVM Thilan De Silva for organizing the venue for the meeting and the fellowship.

Next Executive Committee meeting will be held on 10th October 2024 at the Teppanyaki Room, Monarch Imperial, Thalawathugoda at 6.00 pm

2nd Hor

Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage Secretary

01 September, 2024