MINUTES OF THE 1ST EX – CO MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2016/17 HELD ON 02ND APRIL 2016, AT THE RESIDANCE OF MR. LAL PREMANATH AT NO. 21/3., P.B. ALWIS PERERA MAWATHA,KATUBEDDA, MORATUWA AT 7.00PM

Present:

Mr. Lal Premanath (President), Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi (Senior Vice President), Mr. Susiri De Silva (Immediate Past President), Dr. Mrs. Neela Gunasekara (Vice President), Mr. Saman Warusawithana (Vice President), Mr. Harish Guruge (Treasurer), Air Cdre Thilan De Silva, Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana(Jt. Secretary), Mrs. Shyama Gunawardana (Jt. Secretary), Mr. Bandu De Silva, Dr. P. Warusawithana, Mrs. Samaji Seneviratne, , Mr. L. Channa De Silva, Mr. Udaya Sirisena , Dr. Ranjula Gunawardana , Maj. Mahesh De Silva, Mr. Raj De Silva, Mr. Hemantha De Silva. Mr. Sudath Jinapriya. Mr. Ayesh Madawa De Silva, Dr. Deshapriya Wijethunga. Mr. Gaveshan Weerakkody

Regrets, Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya , Prof. Nihal Kodikara (Vice President), , Brig. Bimal Widanage, **Mr**. Jayantha Kodikara (Vice President), Mrs. Yawwani Perera, Mrs Kumari Wickramaratne, Ms. Maubry Ginige

Absent:, Mr. Ashoka Weerasinghe, Prof. Lalith De Silva, , , (add others...)

- i. Meeting called to order at 7.00 pm
- ii. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.

iii. Silent tribute to old Sokians who passed away during the last month, Founder Member Mr.Susiripala De Silva.

iV. Apologies for Absence: Above members informed, that they were unable to participate.

V. Confirmation of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting held on 24th January 2016.

The minutes were proposed by Dr. Mrs.Neela Gunasekera and seconded by Mr. Susiri De Silva as correct. Subject to following corrections:

Mr. Sudath Jinapriya present for the meeting and Mr. Ayesh Madawa De Silva' name shuld be in the regrets list.

Vi. Monthly Accounts: The treasurer tabled the monthly accounts for the month of February/ March 2016 . He said that long outstanding due amount of Rs. 10,000 was settled by Mr. Ewans De Silva. **Vii. Sub Committee Activities. (Vision A)**

a) Management Sound Policies & Finance.

This was accepted at the last Annual General Meeting and it is being practiced now.

b) .Membership Management Committee.

Two members of this committee are not in the new EX-Co. Therefore only three members are in this committee now. Mj. Mahesh De Silva said that the proposed improvements have been done already and only he could not do is attaching a photograph of each member in the membership directory. He agreed to bring the updated directory for the next meeting.

c) Web Management Committee;

As Prof. Kodikara was not attended the meeting, it was decided to take this up at the next meeting.

d) Editorial and Media Committee:

New Committee was appointed as the earlier members are not in the new Ex-Co. The committee comprises of following members,

Dr. Neela Gunasekara- Chairman

Mr. Ayesh De Silva

Mrs Samaji Seneviratne

Mr. Channa De Silva

Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana.

Sub Committee was requested to prepare a draft News letter and submit it to the next Ex-Co. When preparing the draft, Ex- Co. highlighted that the priority to be given to market the Colombo Branch. Sub Committee was requested to draft the guide lines and to get the approval of the Ex- Co.

e) 30th Anniversary Celebrations Committee: As the chairman of the subcommittee was absent Air Comm. Thilan De Silva said that he reserved Air force hall at Attidiya for 25th September It was decided to print a souvenir for the 30th Anniversary. And try to keep the ticket price at Rs. 2500/-. The activities to be done at the event to be decided by the subcommittee and get the Ex- Co consent.

f) Aesthetic Events and Special Events Committee

The majority of the Ex-Co of the opinion that this time day outing would be better for which more members will participate. The subcommittee chairman requested ideas from the members to select the place. The committee comprises of Mr.Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi the chairman, other members are Mr. Bandu De Silva, Brig. Bimal Widanage,Mr. Jayantha Kodikara Mr. Mohan Wijeratne and Mrs. Yawwani Perera.

Vii. Vision B

a. Physical Activities:

President informed that still the Education Ministry has not given the approval for the renovation work and they are requesting letter from the PPA Colombo Branch regarding the Financial status and the committee decided to send a letter to them. Alsi Mr. Hemadasa and Mr. Mohan Wijeratne appointed to the subcommittee instead of Mr. Kishan Sugathapala and Mr. Jinendralal De Silva.

b. Educational Excellence:

Mr. Susiri De Silva is the chairman and other members are , Dr. Warusawithana, Mr. Bandu De Silva, Prof. Indraratne Dr. Upali Jayasekara and Dr. Deshapriya Wijethunga. The chairman of the committeesaid that the subcommittee will visit the school and get the information from the school and will report to the Ex- Co.

c. Sports Excellence

Brig Bimal Widanagehas completed the lighting of Badminton indoor stadium with the help of sponsors.

Also Mr. Janaka Maduwage will give 2 T.T. tables, 10 T.T. rackets and 1200 balls to the school.

d. Future Technology Platform:

As Prof. Nihal Kodikara was absent, It was decided to take this item at the next Meeting.

Vii. Correspondance:

- i. A letter from a badminton player Ms. Madushika Dilrukshi was deferred as this was deferred as it was in 2014.
- ii. T.T player's letter was referred to Sports committee to see a possibility of finding her a sponsor.

viii. Any Other Matters:

a. Mr. Palithya Widanapathirana suggested that the new committee members list Year plan and the activities we have planned for the year should be sent to all membership to know what's happening in the PPA Colombo Branch.

b. Dr. Mrs Neela Gunasekara said that the name Hemntha Nanayakkara should be deleted from the Ex- Co list as there is no one in that name and for the vacant post Mr. Damitha Leelaratne to be appointed.

c. President informed that the Ex-Co photograph will be taken on the next meeting date and all the men to wear white shirt and black trouser with the college tie, women to wear white saree or light colour saree.

d. President informed that due to the disturb situation, present Principal has requested a transfer. It was decided to request Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya to influence the Education Ministry to find a suitable Principal to the school.

iX. Vote of Thanks:

Vote of Thanks was given by the Air Comdr. Thilan De Silva to Mr. and Mrs.Lal Premanath for arranging their residence to have the meeting and for the fellowship dinner.

Next meeting will be held at the residence of Dr. P. Warusawithana at No.11 ,De Silva Road, Kalubowila on 05th May 2016 at 6.00PM

Shyama Gunawardana Jt. Secretary