

MINUTES OF THE 3rd EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE YEAR 2023/24 HELD ON 10th AUGUST 2023 AT 6.00 PM AT THE YAMATO JAPANEESE RESTAURANT, 63/2, WARD PLACE, COLOMBO 07.

Present:

Air Vice Marshal Thilan De Silva (Retd) (President), AVM Dilshan Wasage (Retd) (Senior Vice President), Mr. Kelum Jayasuriya (Vice President), Eng. Palitha Hendahewa (Vice President), Mr. Iman Perera (Vice President), , Mr. Udaya N. Sirisena (Secretary), Mr. Janaka Kumudu (Asst. Secretary), Mr. Harish Guruge (Treasurer), Mr. Hemantha De Silva (Asst. Treasurer), Mr. Chandra Kumara Lokuliyana (Editor), Eng. Lal Premanath, Dr. P. Warusawithana, Mr. Susiri De Silva, Dr. Neela Gunasekara, Mr. Gavesh Ginige, Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana, Mr. Nipul Goonesekera, Mr. Dammika Kodikara, Mr. Sisira Prabhath Sugathadasa, , Mr. Prasanna Egodage Mr. K M G R Chaminda, , Mr. Shammi Uyanage, Mrs. D M G Shyamalatha, , Mr. M W Janaka Thusil De Silva, Mr. Dhananjaya Nandasiri, Mr. D. Wsantha Kumara, Eng. Damindra De Silva & Mrs. Sajeewa Priyadarshani (28 members).

Absent:

Eng. R B M Gunawardana (Vice President), Eng. Gaveshan Weerakkody, Mr. Rohana De Silva, SSP Nishantha De Zoysa and Dr. Chandana Ramyasiri (5 members).

- 1. Meeting called to order at 6.40 pm.
- 2. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- 3. Silent tribute to Members who passed away:

None

4. Apologies for Absence:

Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi (Immediate Past President), Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera, and Mr. Chandana Guniyangoda. (03 members).

5. Confirmation of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting held on 11th May, 2023

The last meeting minutes were proposed by Mr. Kelum Jayasooriya as correct and seconded by Mr. Wasantha Kumara.

6. Matters arising from Previous Meeting Minutes:

a. Dharma Sermon

Joint Subcommittee Chairperson for Dharma Sermon – AVM Dilshan Wasage (Retd) informed that 30 participants including 9 Ex-Co members were participated for the Dharma Sermon & it was not held under DCPPA-Colombo Branch banner as decided. Refreshments were sponsored by Ex-Co members on personnel basis.

It was informed that Mr. Jagath De Silva agreed to join the sub-committee of Santhiyago Thomas De Silva memorial oration. Further he agreed to held the Oration in Ambalangoda.

b. Fund Raiser

Subcommittee Chairperson Mr. Iman Perera suggested to have an Indoor show & wanted to have a full support of the Ex-Co. Further he wanted to agree the format of the show. Subcommittee to meet & discuss 1 or 2 formats & submit a proposal.

c. Annual Trip

Subcommittee Chairperson – Eng. Palitha Hendahewa advised the cost of new venues. Since cost has gone up, it was decided to look at alternate places & propose venues on or before the Tuesday 15th August & finalize it Thursday the 17th August.

d. Digital Media & Communication

Subcommittee member – Eng. Damindra De Silva explained,

- Why DCPPA-CB need a website.
- Functionality of the website. What is available & not available in the website.
- Developer is responsible for functions & Ex-Co is responsible for Contents.
- Impotency of information flow & possible sources.
- Where are we within the Olcott Schools group and leading schools such as Royal, St. Thomas, Trinity & St. Joseph.
- The impotency of having a full functional website.
- Need to have an Editorial Board.

It was noted that Past Teachers details were received for the Dharma Shermon & need to include to the website in order to obtain details for required personnel. List was handed over to the Subcommittee.

Nominated Mr. Dhammika Kodikara (for sports), Dr. Neela Gunasekara & Mr. Chandra Kumara Lokuliyana for the Editorial Board. It was decided to request member to serve from General Membership too.

e. Sports Activities

None.

f. Felicitation Ceremony for Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera

- It was noted that only 58 tickets were sold as at 10th August. Therefore it was decided to limit the number of participants to 75.
- Spouse of Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera to be invited.
- Patron Principal of Dharmasoka College also to be invited.
- Mr. Kelum Jayasooriya to be the Master of Ceremony & compere.
- School Flags to be brought from the School
- Male Ex-Co members to wear the Full suit & the college tie and Female Ex-Co members to wear a Saree.
- 2 Tables to be reserved for VIP guests

g. Physical Infrastructure

Subcommittee Chairperson – Eng. R B M Gunawardana was not present.

h. Membership Drive

Following membership applications were tabled and the Applicant was enrolled as members.

New Applicant	Introduced by
Mr. M C D De Silva	Mr. Dananjaya Nandasiri
Dr. Damitha Piyadigama	Mr. Dananjaya Nandasiri

10. Accounts for the last month

The Treasurer- Mr. Harish Guruge tabled the monthly accounts for the month of July 2023.

Treasurer – Mr. Harish Guruge informed that Rs. 40,000/= will be given for 4 students who participated "Asian Youth Table Championships 2023 which was held in Qatar during 16th July to 24th July, 2023; namely, LKGL Peiris, KGDD Chandrasena, KL Sethumadi & MHN De Zoysa per the Association guidelines to cover their expenses.

11. Correspondence

President – AVM Thilan De Silva (Retd) tabled the Letter received from Ms. Shamalie & informed that Association cannot get involved for the subject matter.

12. Any Other Business

Mr. Kelum Jayasooriya suggested to have a pull up banner instead of the cloth n Banner for the Association.

13. Vote of Thanks:

On behalf of the DCPPA-CB, Secretary – Mr. Udaya N. Sirisena expressed his sincere gratitude to all Ex-Co members for their participation as it was a meeting attended by most number of Ex-Co members in recent past.

He specially thanked Mr. Shammie Uyanage for hosting the meeting (Venue & Refreshments) with a new concept.

Udaya N. Sirisena. Secretary

23rd August, 2023