

DHARMASOKA COLLEGE PAST PUPILS' ASSOCIATION COLOMBO BRANCH

MINUTES OF THE 2nd EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE YEAR 2024/25 HELD ON 13TH JULY 2024 AT 11.00 AM AT DHARMASOKA COLLEGE, AMBALANGODA.

	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	%
AVM (Rted) Dilshan Wasage	Р	Ρ											100
AVM (Retd) Thilan De Silva	Р	Ρ											100
Eng Palitha Hendahewa	Р	Е											50
Mr Iman Perera	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Kelum Jayasuriya	Р	Р											100
Eng Pubudu De Zoysa	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Dhananjaya Nandasiri	Р	Ρ											100
Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Janaka Kumudu	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Harish Guruge	Р	Е											50
Mr Hemantha De Silva	Р	Е											50
Mr Chandrakumara Lokuliyana	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Saman Warusawithana	Р	Е											50
Mr Dhammika Kodikara	Р	Р											100
Mr Nipul Gunasekara	Р	Р											100
Dr Neela Gunasekara	Р	Р											100
Dr P Warusawithana	Р	Р											100
Mr Chandana Guniyangoda	Р	Ρ											100
Eng Sudath De silva	Р	Ρ											100
Mrs Sajeewa Priyadharshani	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Chaminda Wijewickrama	Р	Ρ											100
Mrs Shyama De Silva	Р	Е											50
Dr Deshapriya Wijethunge	Р	Ρ											100
Eng Lal Premanath	Р	Е											50
Vice Admiral (Retd) Piyal De Silva	Е	Е											00
Mr Susiri De Silva	Р	Р											100
Mrs Helani De Silva	Р	А											50
Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera	Р	Ρ											100
Mrs Rekha Mallawarachchi	Р	Ρ											100
Dr Aruna Lokuliyana	Р	Ρ											100
Mr Prabath Sugathadasa	Р	Ρ											100
Mrs Yamuna Hetiarachchi	Р	Р											100
Mr Udaya Sirisena	Р	Е											50
Mr Wasantha Kumara	E	Е											00
Eng Chandralal Suriyarachchi	Р	Е											50
Mr Dewmith Kaggodarachchi	Р	Е											50
Mr Prasanna Egodage	E	Р											50

- **1.** Meeting called to order at 11.00 am.
- 2. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- 3. Silent tribute to Members who passed away: None

4. Apologies for Absence:

Eng Lal Premanath, Mr Harish Guruge, Eng Chandralal Suriyarachchi, Mr Udaya Sirisena, Mr Hemantha De Silva, Mr Dewmith Kaggodarachchi, Mrs Shyama De Silva, Mr Saman Warusawithana, Mr Wasantha Kumara

5. Welcome address by President:

President AVM Dilshan Wasage welcomed all the members present and thank them for their participation in school visit and the ExCo meeting outside Colombo. President requested to support the members day which is headed by Eng Pubudu De Zoysa

6. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 1st Ex-Co meeting for the year 2023/24 held on 06th June, 2024:

The last meeting minutes confirmation was proposed by Eng Pubudu De Soyza and seconded by Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera.

7. Year Plan & Subcommittees

Secretary mentioned that 1st event of the year planner was successfully conducted. President thanked Mr Roshan Egodage for conducting training workshop for students and teachers.

2nd event of the year was discussion and visit to the school which was conducted same day.

Principal and the staff requested support from the DCPPA for following projects

- 1. New 4 story building for canteen, Table tennis gymnasium, smart class rooms
- 2. Photocopy machine
- 3. Outdoor classroom
- 4. Renovation of old classrooms
- 5. Home science room
- 6. Tiling of baby swimming pool
- 7. Capacity building for teachers
- 8. E library
- 9. Language lab

After the discussion with School staff and representatives from OBA, the ExCo members were accompanied for a tour around the school by Principal to demonstrate the situation of the physical condition of the school.

Career guidance workshop was also discussed and the subcommittee will decide a date with the school and commence organizing the event.

Mr Kelum Jayasuriya suggested to include a programme to supply free books and sale of books at a concessional price in December. Mrs Yamuna Hettiarachchi will organize Promate to come to school.

Mr Iman Perera suggested to have a target of 150 new members through membership drive and requested support from ExCo members at least to enroll 5 new members by each ExCo member.

Mr Iman Perera also volunteered to take over the establishment of WhatsApp group for year groups.

8. Accounts for the month of May 2024:

The Secretary tabled the monthly accounts for the month of June 2024 in the absence of treasurer and assistant treasurer.

Secretary mentioned that there is a long outstanding amount of Rs 15,000.00. Mr Thilan De Silva suggested to inform Mr Evan De Silva with a deadline and consider writing off.

Secretary also mentioned there are recievables from Mr Damendra De Silva and Mr Shammi Uyange for sale of tickets of AGM.

8. Correspondence

Secretary presented an email from past cadets' congregation informing that a school tie will be designed at Rs 2000.00.

9. Any Other Business

Eng Lal Premanath mentioned that the scholarship trust secretary is unable to function further in the secretary capacity due to personal reasons and there is a need to appoint a new secretaty to the trust.

The Committee decided to appoint a new secretary.

Accordingly, Mr Udaya Sirisena was proposed by Eng Lal Premanath to the post of the Secretary of the Scholarship Trust and AVM Thilan De Silva seconded.

10. Tabling of new membership

Secretary tabled following new membership

Amila Nuwan Arumawadu Ginige Kamani Tharanga De Silva B Pinnaduwa

11. Vote of Thanks

Secretary expressed the association's sincere gratitude to the all-Executive members participated in the 2nd committee meeting for the year 2024/25. He made a special note of thank to Ex-Co member Mr Dhammika Kodikara, Mrs Rekha Malliwarachchi, Mr Nipul Gunasekara and Mr Prasanna Egodage for organizing the school visit and the fellowship.

Next Executive Committee meeting will be held on 15th August 2024 at the Sri Lanka Port Authority Club House, No 95, Elie House Road, Modara, Colombo 15 at 6.00 pm

Que Hor

Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage Secretary

13th July, 2024