

DHARMASOKA COLLEGE PAST PUPILS' ASSOCIATION COLOMBO BRANCH

MINUTES OF THE 3rd EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE YEAR 2024/25 HELD ON 15TH AUGUST 2024 AT 06.00 PM AT SRI LANKA PORT AUTHORITY CLUB HOUSE, NO 95, ELIE HOUSE ROAD, MODARA, COLOMBO 15

	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	%
AVM (Rted) Dilshan Wasage	Р	Ρ	Р										100
AVM (Retd) Thilan De Silva	Р	Ρ	Е										33.3
Eng Palitha Hendahewa	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Mr Iman Perera	Р	Ρ	Е										66.6
Mr Kelum Jayasuriya	Р	Р	Р										100
Eng Pubudu De Zoysa	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Dhananjaya Nandasiri	Р	Ρ	Е										66.6
Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage	Р	Р	Р										100
Mr Janaka Kumudu	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Harish Guruge	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Mr Hemantha De Silva	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Mr Chandrakumara Lokuliyana	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Saman Warusawithana	Р	Е	Е										33.3
Mr Dhammika Kodikara	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Nipul Gunasekara	Р	Ρ	0										100
Dr Neela Gunasekara	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Dr P Warusawithana	Р	Ρ	Е										66.6
Mr Chandana Guniyangoda	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Eng Sudath De silva	Р	Ρ	Е										66.6
Mrs Sajeewa Priyadharshani	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Chaminda Wijewickrama	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mrs Shyama De Silva	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Dr Deshapriya Wijethunge	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Eng Lal Premanath	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Vice Admiral (Retd) Piyal De Silva	Е	Е	Е										00
Mr Susiri De Silva	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mrs Helani De Silva	Р	А	А										33.3
Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mrs Rekha Mallawarachchi	Р	Ρ	Е										66.6
Dr Aruna Lokuliyana	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Prabath Sugathadasa	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mrs Yamuna Hetiarachchi	Р	Ρ	Р										100
Mr Udaya Sirisena	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Mr Wasantha Kumara	E	Е	Р										33.3
Eng Chandralal Suriyarachchi	Р	Е	Е										33.3
Mr Dewmith Kaggodarachchi	Р	Е	Р										66.6
Mr Prasanna Egodage	Е	Р	Е										33.3

- 1. Meeting called to order at 06.30 pm.
- 2. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- 3. Silent tribute to Members who passed away: None

4. Apologies for Absence:

Eng Sudath De Silva, Eng Pubudu De Zoysa, Dr P Warusawithana, Mr Prasanna Egodage, Mrs Rekha Mallawarachchi, Mr Saman Warusawithana, Admiral Piyal De Silva, Iman Perera, AVM Thilan De Silva, Eng Chandralal Suriyarachchi

5. Welcome address by President:

President AVM Dilshan Wasage welcomed all the members present and thank them for their participation. He briefed on the youth parliament programme which was scheduled to be held on following day. He thanked Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera for organizing this event.

6. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 3rd Ex-Co meeting for the year 2023/24 held on 06th July, 2024:

The last meeting minutes confirmation was proposed by Mr Kelum Jasyasuriya and seconded by Mr Janaka Kumudu subject to following amendments.

Page no 8:

Accounts for the month of May 2024:

The Secretary tabled the monthly accounts for the month of June 2024 in the absence of treasurer and assistant treasurer.

To be corrected as

Accounts for the month of June 2024

The Secretary tabled the monthly accounts for the month of June 2024 <mark>submitted by the treasurer</mark> in the absence of treasurer and assistant treasurer.

Secretary also mentioned there are recievables from Mr Damendra De Silva and Mr Shammi Uyange for sale of tickets of AGM.

To be corrected as

Secretary also mentioned there are receivables from Mr Damendra De Silva **for sponsorship** and Mr Shammi Uyange for sale of tickets of AGM.

The paragraph under any other business to be deleted

7. Matters arising from the minutes

The committee discussed regarding the school visit and the request from the school to support for the 4-story building. Eng Palitha Hendahewa and Dr Aruna Lokuliyana suggested to visit the school to have discussions regarding 4-story building and supply of media items.

8. Year Plan & Subcommittees

Scholarship Trust

Eng Lal Premanath informed that the scholarship awarding ceremony will be held end of September and he and president requested to donate scholarships to increase the number of scholarships awarded.

Career guidance programme has been postponed due to the youth parliament was scheduled for August.

Members get together

Eng Pubudu De Zoysa has informed that members get together will be organized in November at Jay Jay Hotel in Panadura

Mr Kelum Jayasuriya informed that **Book donation and book fair** will be held in December. A medical camp for retired and present teachers was also discussed.

Awareness on medicines will be conducted in parallel to scholarship awarding.

Donation of bus was discussed and Mr Chandana Guniyangoda presented the proposal and the time line and Mr Dewmith Kaggodarachchi indicated that maintenance of bus should be ensured. Mr Chandana Guniyangoda raised the issue of legal ownership of the bus and Eng Lal Premanath suggested that scholarship trust can be the legal owner.

Donation of the photocopy machine was discussed and Mr Janaka Kumudu presented the quotations received. The committee decided to appoint a sub committee with Eng Palith Hendahewa, Mr Chandrakumara Lokuliyana and Mr Harish Guruge.

Dr Neela Gunasekara informed that a **newsletter** is planned to be released in the month of December.

Eng Palitha Hendahewa informed that the **Thomas De Silva oration** will be delivered by Dr Ruwan Fernando and he has already consented. Eng Palitha Hendahewa will send the formal request to Dr Fernando.

Mr Wasantha Kumara agreed to sponsor the December ExCo meeting.

8. Accounts for the month of July 2024:

The Treasurer tabled the monthly accounts for the month of July 2024.

It was decided to withdraw one fixed deposit to pay for the scholarship and the photocopy machine.

Treasurer informed that Mr Evan De Silva has agreed the outstanding amount within two weeks.

Mr Kelum Jayasuriya will inform Mr Damendra De Silva regarding outstanding sponsorship money.

Treasurer informed that Mr Shammi Uyange has informed that he will return the tickets but the committee decided not to accept unsold tickets and ask Mr Uyange to pay the amount.

9. Correspondence

No correspondences received during the month.

10. Any Other Business

Mr Harish Guruge tabled the approved accounting procedure of the association for the perusal of committee members. Secretary will circulate the document in WhatsApp group.

11. Tabling of new membership

No new membership application received during the month.

12. Vote of Thanks

Secretary expressed the association's sincere gratitude to the all-Executive members participated in the 3rd committee meeting for the year 2024/25. He made a special note of thank to President AVM Dilshan Wasage for organizing the venue for the meeting and the fellowship.

Next Executive Committee meeting will be held on 05th September 2024 at the Red wood lounge, BRC, 149, Havelock road, Colombo 05 at 6.00 pm

2. 261

Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage Secretary

01 September, 2024