

DHARMASOKA COLLEGE PAST PUPILS ASSOCIATION COLOMBO BRANCH

MINUTES OF THE 3RD EX – CO MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2016/17 HELD ON 02ND JUNE 2016, AT THE OPA, AT PROF. STANLEY WIJESUNDARE MAWATHA, COLOMBO 07 AT 6.00PM

Present:

Mr. Lal Premanath (President), Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi (Senior Vice President), Mr. Jayantha Kodikara (Vice President), Dr. Mrs. Neela Gunasekara (Vice President), Mr. Saman Warusawithana (Vice President), Prof. Nihal Kodikara (Vice President) Mr. Susiri De Silva (Immediate Past President), Mr. Harish Guruge (Treasurer), Air Cdre Thilan De Silva, Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana(Jt. Secretary), Mrs. Shyama Gunawardana (Jt. Secretary), Mr. Bandu De Silva, Dr. P. Warusawithana, , Mr. Udaya Sirisena, Dr. Ranjula Gunawardana, Maj. Mahesh De Silva, , Mr. Hemantha De Silva.. Mr. Ayesh Madawa De Silva, Dr. Deshapriya Wijethunga, Mrs. Yawwani Perera, Mr. Gaveshan Weerakkody, Mr. Raj De Silva, Mrs Kumari Wickramaratne, Mr. Ashoka Weerasinghe, Mr. M.B. Hemadasa, SP Nishantha Soysa.(26 members)

Regrets: Ms. Maubry Ginige, Mrs. Samaji Seneviratne, Mr. L. Channa De Silva. (3 members)

Absent: Prof. Lalith De Silva, Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya, Brig. Bimal Widanage, Mr. Sudath Jinapriya, Mr. Nelson de Silva, Mr.mohan Wijerathne, Ms. Chabeisha Edirimuni, Mr. Channa Pushpamal (8 members)

- Meeting called to order at 6.00 pm
- ii. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- iii. Silent tribute to old Sokians who passed away during the last month: Maj Gen. Sanath Karunaratne's Father in Law
- iV. Apologies for Absence: Above members informed, that they were unable to participate.
- V. Confirmation of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting held on 02nd April 2016.

The minutes were proposed by Dr. Mrs Neela Gunasekara and seconded by Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi as correct.

Vi. Matters arising from the previous Meeting minutes.

a. Updated Membership Directory

The president requested Maj. Mahesh de Silva to send a form requesting details with the Newsletter which are required to update the membership directory.

b. Updated DCPPA Web

President requested the subcommittee to meet and discuss the matters regarding the opening of face book and the twitter accounts. He further said that Kasun De Soysa can do this work and Ayesh De Silva was asked to contact him. Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana requested to maintain only one face book account. Sudath Jinapriya was appointed to the committee.

c. Guidelines for the Newsletter:

Draft News Letter received from Ayesh was commented by the Ex-Co members . Some said the articles are too lengthy and to shorten them. Some of the view that the details of the association are not sufficient and to increase it to 60% of the contents. It was decided to have 8 pages for the Newsletter of which 5 pages should contain News of the association. It can be the currently planned activities and past activities. Subcommittee was requested to meet the graphic designer and finalize the draft Newsletter. President stressed that the News letter should go to all the members one month before the 30th Anniversary celebration date. President requested the subcommittee chairman to mail the dummy of the newsletter to the committee members before the next meeting.

d. Status of Day Outing:

The date is fixed for 10th July and the trip will be to Mirissa Navy Camp. The charges are Rs. 1600/- for the meals and Rs. 250/- per person for the use of pool. Transport cost Rs 1000/- per person. Full payment to be made before 2nd July. Maj. Mahesh De Silva was requested to send a mail to all the members requesting them to participate.

e. Status of Physical Activities:

Building construction contract was awarded. Advance payment to be made on submission of the Advance guarantee bond. It was mentioned that the payment to the Buildings Dept to be made at the inception.

Mr. Piyal De Silva has informed that he would make the payment of Rs. 100,000 in two installments.

President said that collection of funds to be continued.

f. Status of Education Excellence Activities:

Since the subcommittee chairman Mr. Susiri De Silva said that the subcommittee has to meet and a report will be tabled at the next meeting.

g. Status of Sports Activities:

Since the subcommittee chairman Brig. Bimal Widanage is absent, it was decided to take this up at the next meeting.

vii. Monthly Accounts:

The treasurer tabled the monthly accounts for the month of May 2016. He said that Mr. Raj de Silva, Dr Ranjula Gunawardana and Dr. Sunil De Silva have shown interest to contribute Rs. 100,000 each to the Infrastructure Development fund and they have already made the 1st installment of Rs. 10,000/-

Viii. 30th Anniversary Celebrations Committee:

Subcommittee chairman said that they will visit the venue and have their subcommittee meeting next week. The letter to be sent to the members informing about the event will be finalized at the next meeting.

ix. Finalization of Year Plan2016/2017:

4th Executive meeting will be held on **7th July** at the Police Welfare Complex in Thimbirigasyaya, followed by the dinner hosted by SP Nishantha De Soysa, at the Police Officers Mess.

Future meetings:

- August meeting will be at Dr. Warusawithana's residence and the Refreshments will be provided by Air Com. Thilan De Silva.
- September meeting will be hosted by Mr. Saman Warusawithana
- October Meeting will be at Dr. Warusawithana's residence and refreshments will be provided by Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi.
- **November** meeting will be at Dr. Warusawithana's residance and refreshments will be provided by Dr. Mrs. Neela Gunasekara.
- **December** meeting will be held at OPA and refreshments will be provided by Prof. Nihal Kodikara

xi. Correspondence: None

viii. Any Other Matters:

Mrs. Neela Gunasekera commended the Wesak Pandol presented by Dr. Warusawithana and his untiring effort was admired by the committee.

iX. Vote of Thanks:

Vote of Thanks was given by the Jt. Secretary Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana to Mr. Gaveshan Weerakkodyand Mr.M.B. Hemadasa for arranging the OPA for the meeting and providing refreshments.

Next meeting will be held at the Police Officers' Mess at Thimbirigasyaya on 7th July 2016 at 6.00PM followed by dinner hosted by SP. Nishantha De Soysa.

Shyama Gunawardana Jt. Secretary

3rd July 2016.