

DHARMASOKA COLLEGE PAST PUPILS ASSOCIATION COLOMBO BRANCH

MINUTES OF THE 04TH EX – CO MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2016/17 HELD ON 07TH JULY 2016, AT THE POLICE WELFARE COMPLEX AT KEPPETIPOLA MAWATHA, THIMBIRIGASYAYA, COLOMBO 05 AT 6.00PM

Present:

Mr. Lal Premanath (President), Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi (Senior Vice President), Mr. Jayantha Kodikara (Vice President), Dr. Mrs. Neela Gunasekara (Vice President), Mr. Saman Warusawithana (Vice President), Prof. Nihal Kodikara (Vice President) Mr. Susiri De Silva (Immediate Past President), Air Cdre Thilan De Silva, Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana(Jt. Secretary), Mrs. Shyama Gunawardana (Jt. Secretary), Mr. Bandu De Silva, Dr.P. Warusawithana, Mr. Udaya Sirisena, Dr. Ranjula Gunawardana, Maj. Mahesh De Silva, Mr. Hemantha De Silva, Mr. Ayesh Madawa De Silva, Dr. Deshapriya Wijethunga, Mrs. Yawwani Perera, Mr. Raj De Silva, Mr. Asoka Weerasinghe, Mr. M.B. Hemadasa, SP Nishantha Soysa, Mrs. Samaji Seneviratne, Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya, Brig. Bimal Widanage, Mr. Sudath Jinapriya, Mr. L. Channa De Silva, Ms. Chabiesha Edirimuni, Mr. Mohan Wijeratne, Mr. Channa Pushpamal De Silva(31 members)

Regrets: Ms. Maubry Ginige, Mr. Harish Guruge, Mrs. Kumari Wickramaratne, Mr. Gaveshan Weerakkody(4 members)

Absent: Prof. Lalith De Silva, Mr. Damitha Leelarathne, Mr. Nelson de Silva(3 members)

- i. Meeting called to order at 6.30 pm
- ii. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- iii. Silent tribute to old Sokian's who passed away during the last month: Beloved wife of Mr. Dudley Karunaratne.
- iV. Apologies for Absence: Above members informed, that they were unable to participate.
- V. Confirmation of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting held on 02nd June 2016.

The minutes were proposed by Mr.Bandu De Silva and seconded by Mr.Udaya Sirisena as correct.

Vi. Matters arising from the previous Meeting minutes.

a. Updated Membership Directory

Maj. Mahesh de Silva said that he prepared a form to be sent along with the Newsletter to all the members by post and email to get the additional details.

He also said that he separated the names of deceased members list from the directory.

b. Update the DCPPA Web

Prof. Kodikara said that the Web site is being updated and Mr. Sudath Jinapriya will take the lead role to bring the DCPPA into social media-net. Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana suggested that Prof. Nihal Kodikara and Mr. Sudath Jinapriya to explore the possibility of having all relevant information from the inception of DCPPA, such as Exco members, annual reports, financial reports, newsletters, details of major events etc., can be permanently archived in the web, to enable anyone to retrieve information without a hassle.

c. Status of the Newsletter:

Draft News Letter received from Mr. Ayesh was discussed. President requested to replace some photographs. Mr. Jayantha Kodikara suggested adding two more sentences at the end of the article wrote about Mr. Chandrathilake.

Editor Mr.Ayesh De Silva said that he obtained quotations from 5 printers and Exco members and the subcommittee selected "Samanala Printers", who has given the lowest quotation of Rs. 54/- per Newsletter. He also said that the postage cost is Rs. 30/- each. It was decided to print 800 copies of the Newsletter and to post to all the members. Advance payment of 25% of the printing cost will be made to the Samanala Printers to commence the work and balance payment to be made after successful completion of the work. The Proof Reading will be done at the next Ex-Co meeting. Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya requested to have half page article about the former Principal Mr. Sumith Parackramawansa in the Newsletter. The Editor was requested to get a message from the present Principal.

d. Arrangements and status of the Day outing

The rate charged from each participant is Rs. 3000/- Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi informed the committee that there are 25 people to go in the bus and 5 will come on their own. He also announced that the Bus will leave the Nugegoda Supermarket by 7.00AM.

e. Status of Physical Activities.

President informed the committee that the date for the foundation stone laying ceremony is on 21st of July, 2016 and all committee members are welcome to attend the event and following members consented to attend the event.

Mrs. Neela Gunasekera, Mj. Mahesh De Silva, Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi, Mr. Lal Premanath, Mr. Palitha Widanapathirana, Mr. Susiri De Silva, Mr. Raj De Silva, Mrs. Shyama Gunawardana, Mrs. Samaji Seneviratne and Mr. Asoka Weerasinghe. Mr. Susir De Silva suggested inviting the donors who made contributions more than Rs 250,000/- to the infrastructure fund. Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya requested to invite past principals too.

President announced that Mr. Payal De Silva handed over Rs. 50,000 to the computer project. Maths class of 1974 contributed Rs. 90,000/- to upgrade the computer lab and money was handed over to Prof. Nihal Kodikara, the subcommittee chairman.

Editor was requested to reserve space in the Newsletter to publish two photographs of the event.

f. Status of Education Excellence Activities

Subcommittee chairman, Mr. Susiri De Silva said that the committee members, Dr.P. Warusawithana, Mr. Bandu De Silva, Dr. Deshapriya Wijethunga and Prof. Upali Jayasekera will go to the school on the 21st instant and meet the new Principal and brief at the next meeting.

g. Status of Sports Activities

Brig. Bimal Widanage reported that the progress of the sports activities and said Badminton court work has already completed and informed that Mr. Janaka Maduwage has given money to purchase T.T balls and other accessories required for the game.

vii. Accounts for the last month

Since the Treasurer was not present, Asst. Treasurer tabled the monthly accounts for the month of June 2016.

viii. Update on 30th Anniversary Celebration

The subcommittee chairman Mr. Jayantha Kodikara said that the committee decided the Menu for the occasion on 25th September 2016 at Eagle Lakeside at Attidiya.

He tabled the duty allocation for the subcommittee members. It was decided to sell the tickets at Rs. 2500=-each and to print 400 tickets. Compeer was the same person as last year at the same price of Rs. 15,000/-

Chief Guest will be the Principal and his Wife. A Souvenir will be printed with 150 copies.

T shirts will be sold at the entrance and few of them will be given as gifts.

ix. Finalization of Year Plan2016/2017:

Meeting Schedule:

- 1. August meeting will be at Dr. Warusawithana's Residance and the refreshments will be provided by Air com. Thilan De Silva.
- 2. September meeting will be hosted by Mr. Saman Warusawithana
- 3. October meeting refreshments will be provided by Mr. Chandralal Sooriyaarachchi.
- 4. November meeting refreshments will be provided by Dr. Mrs. Neela Gunasekara.
- 5. December meeting will be held at the OPA and refreshments from Prof. Kodikara.
- 6. Mr. Sudath Jinapriya and Mr. Mohan Wijeratne showed interest of hosting a meeting in the month of October 2016 to be discussed and finalized.

x. Correspondence:

Secretary tabled a letter from Oshada Thilina De Silva requesting financial assistance for a overseas Badminton Tournament and the committee approved the standard payment of Rs. 10,000 if the documents submitted are in order. Treasurer to check and do the needful.

Two membership applications of following members were tabled

Mr. S.R. Peththawadu

Mr. Ruwan Rupasena.

viii. Any Other Matters:

The Exco requested Mr. Susiri De Silva to print 200nos of new letter heads.

iX. Vote of Thanks:

Vote of Thanks was given by Air Cmdr. Thilan De Silva to Mr. Nishantha De Soysa and his wife for hosting the meeting and serving the fellowship dinner at the Police Mess.

Next meeting will be held at the residence of Dr. Warusawithana at No.11, De Silva Road, Kalubowila on 04th August 2016 at 6.00PM

Shyama Gunawardana Jt. Secretary