

DHARMASOKA COLLEGE PAST PUPILS' ASSOCIATION COLOMBO BRANCH

MINUTES OF THE 1ST EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE YEAR 2024/25 HELD ON 06TH JUNE 2024 AT 6.00 PM AT THE FUNCTION ROOM, CLUB HOUSE, HAVELOCK CITY, COLOMBO 05.

	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	%
AVM (Rted) Dilshan Wasage	Р												100
AVM (Retd) Thilan De Silva	Р												100
Eng Palitha Hendahewa	Р												100
Mr Iman Perera	Р												100
Mr Kelum Jayasuriya	Р												100
Eng Pubudu De Zoysa	Р												100
Mr Dhananjaya Nandasiri	Р												100
Brig (Retd) Dr Saveen Semage	Р												100
Mr Janaka Kumudu	Р												100
Mr Harish Guruge	Р												100
Mr Hemantha De Silva	Р												100
Mr Chandrakumara Lokuliyana	Р												100
Mr Saman Warusawithana	Р												100
Mr Dhammika Kodikara	Р												100
Mr Nipul Gunasekara	Р												100
Dr Neela Gunasekara	Р												100
Dr P Warusawithana	Р												100
Mr Chandana Guniyangoda	Р												100
Eng Sudath De silva	Р												100
Mrs Sajeewa Priyadharshani	Р												100
Mr Chaminda Wijewickrama	Р												100
Mrs Shyama De Silva	Р												100
Dr Deshapriya Wijethunge	Р												100
Eng Lal Premanath	Р												100
Vice Admiral (Retd) Piyal De Silva	Е												00
Mr Susiri De Silva	Р												100
Mrs Helani De Silva	Р												100
Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera	Р												100
Mrs Rekha Mallawarachchi	Р												100
Dr Aruna Lokuliyana	Р												100
Mr Prabath Sugathadasa	Р												100
Mrs Yamuna Hetiarachchi	Р												100
Mr Udaya Sirisena	Ρ												100
Mr Wasantha Kumara	Е												00
Eng Chandralal Suriyarachchi	Р												100
Mr Dewmith Kaggodarachchi	Р												100
Mr Prasanna Egodage	Е												00

- **1.** Meeting called to order at 6.15pm.
- 2. Commenced the day's proceedings, by singing the College song.
- 3. Silent tribute to Members who passed away: None
- **4. Apologies for Absence**: Vice Admiral (Retd) Piyal De Silva, Mr Wasantha Kumara, Mr Prasanna Egodage
- Self-introduction of new Executive committee members: All Executive committee members present made a self-introduction to the committee

6. Welcome address by newly elected President:

Newly elected president AVM Dilshan Wasage welcomed all the newly elected executive members and requested their fullest support to the activities of the association in the coming year. He further noted that fellowship among the ExCo members needs to be strengthened while extending the support to the college.

7. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 11th Ex-Co meeting for the year 2023/24 held on 25th April, 2024:

The last meeting minutes confirmation was proposed by AVM Thilan De Silva and seconded by Mr. Kelum Jayasuriya subject to following corrections.

Mr.Palitha Widanapathirana explained how things came up ACM Weerakkody as a candidate of President for next term and he apologies from all the members. Exco decided AVM Dilshan Wasage (Retired) must nominate at the AGM as a President.

to be corrected as

The Committee decided to strictly adhere to the constitution in appointing the new Ex-Co members in the upcoming AGM.

Mr Palitha Vidanapathirana apologized for involving in making arrangements to appoint Ex-Co members not in accordance with the constitution.

Secretary presented the minutes of the 36th Annual General Meeting and following corrections were suggested.

A special donation of **Rs 1,200,000** to the scholarship trust was made in memory of Mr RGL De Silva by his family. Two daughters of Mr De Silva presented the donation to the President.

to be corrected as

A special donation of **Rs 1,500,000** to the scholarship trust was made in memory of Mr RGL De Silva by his family. Two daughters of Mr De Silva presented the donation to the President.

A felicitation was conducted to Mr Piyadasa Hettihewa, the oldest living **member** of the association.

to be corrected as

A felicitation was conducted to Mr Piyadasa Hettihewa, the oldest living **past president** of the association.

Executive committee members elected – Helani De **Zoysa** to be corrected as Executive committee members elected – Helani De **Silva**

8. Year Plan & Appointing of Subcommittees

Secretary presented the proposed year planner and the proposed sub-committees.

After a lengthy discussion following year planner and the sub-committee were agreed upon.

Date/Month	Activity	Chief organizer
June	Leadership training	Mrs Rekha Mallawarachchi
		Chandrakumara Lokuliyana
		Prasanna Egodage
July	Scoping mission - College and OBA	Mr Dhammika Kodikara
August	Career guidance programme	Mr Dhananjaya Nandasiri
September		
October	Awareness on rational use of drugs	Mr Kelum Jayasuriya
November	Members get together	Eng Pubudu De Zoysa
December		
January	Sports medicine workshop	Mr Janaka Kumudu
February	Thomas De Silva Oration	Eng Palitha Hendahewa
March	Fund raiser	Eng Sudath De Silva
April		
May	AGM	AVM Dilshan Wasage

Year planner

Sub-Committees

Academic excellence	Mr Dhananjaya Nandasiri
Sports	Mr Janaka Kumudu
Media & Communication	Mr Chandrakumara Lokuliyana
Creative arts and Aesthetics	Dr Aruna Lokuliyana
Membership Drive	Mr Iman Perera
Constitution affairs	AVM Thilan De Silva
News letter	Dr Neela Gunasekara
Infrastructure development	Eng Palitha Hendahewa

It was decided to appoint sub-committee members in consultation with chairperson of each sub-committee and the chairpersons were requested to present their proposal to the next ExCo meeting.

8. Accounts for the month of May 2024:

The Treasurer- Mr. Harish Guruge tabled the monthly accounts for the month of May 2024.

9. Correspondence

Secretary presented the proposal for an archiving centre for the college forwarded by Mr Jagath Chandralal De Silva. The Committee decided to discuss the matter with the principal and discuss further at the next meeting.

10. Any Other Business

Eng Lal Premanath mentioned that the scholarship trust secretary is unable to function further in the secretary capacity due to personal reasons and there is a need to appoint a new secretaty to the trust.

The Committee decided to appoint a new secretary.

Accordingly, Mr Udaya Sirisena was proposed by Eng Lal Premanath to the post of the Secretary of the Scholarship Trust and AVM Thilan De Silva seconded.

11. Vote of Thanks

Secretary expressed the association's sincere gratitude to the all Executive members participated in the inaugural committee meeting for the year 2024/25. He made a special note of thank to Ex-Co member Eng Sudath De Silva and his wife, a member of the association, Mrs Deepika De Silva for arranging the venue for the meeting and the fellowship.

Next Executive Committee meeting will be held on 13th July 2024 at the residence of Mr Dhammika Kodikara, Peiris Weda Mawatha, Kaluadumulla, Ambalangoda

In Hor

Brig (Reted) Dr Saveen Semage Secretary

06th June, 2024